Testimonials

BLUE

Australian Cattle Dog (Blue Heeler)

"Philip and Michelle were awesome.  Our pup, Blue, responded to them both immediately.  They gave us the tools to work with in raising a willfull Blue Heeler.  Blue is still a little rascal, but now we can work with methods that Philip and Michele taught us, to bring him under our command and not his!  We highly recommend KO Dog Training to anyone that may be searching for a training team.  The fact that KO Dog Training is Veteran owned and operated was an easy decision to make when choosing from so many other trainers.  It was the best decision we made next to bringing Blue into our family!"

Dawn D. - 07/19/2020

TUCKER & EMMY

Cockapoo & Terrier Mix

"Phillip and Michelle were an absolute pleasure to work with in training our two small rescue dogs.  Their guidance through the steps we needed to take with the dogs was everything to us and kept us on track with training which we otherwise would not have done if left to our own devices.  They were extremely patient with both of us and the dogs and very knowledgeable and helpful in all their suggestions on different things to try to improve on the issues we had.  Highly recommend them!"

Bob & Lana R. - 07/07/2020

TEEMU & ROSCOE

Akitas

"I am not a novice dog owner and have succesfully had multiple large dogs over the past 30+ years; however, for the first time I ran into a problem I could not solve.  My two young Akitas (brothers from different litters) started fighting with each other.  I've had several Akitas in the past and am not new to the breed and have successfully had males living together peacefully so I was dumbfounded.  We were at the end of our rope as the fighting was quickly getting worse both in intensity and frequency.  Our only option we could think of was to re-home one of our boys and we were devastated.  As a last chance hope of desperation, we reached out to Phillip and Michelle of KO Dog Training to try to help us.  In all honesty, I didn't know if they could fix our problem but it was the only thing left before we gave up one of our boys.  We decided we were going to commit 100% of our efforts and now couldn't be happier with the results!!!  We saw improvement within 2 weeks and by week 4, our boys were living peacefully together again!! It was a miracle!!!  Phillip and Michelle are very knowledgeable and are very motivated to help you reach your goals.  I like how they worked with us to figure out what was going on and how to manage it.  They are kind and compassionate about their work and clients.  I cannot say enough about them.  But my disclaimer is that you (the client) HAVE to put in the time and effort to work with your dog(s) at home on your own.  It's more about training YOU how to manage your dog than just teaching a dog different commands.  All in all, I coudln't be happier with the results of working with Phillip and Michelle!!!  If you have any problems with your dog or just want some one-on-one basic obedience training, I highly recommend these professionals".

Michelle T. - 05/12/2020

HIGGINS

French Bulldog

"Our training sessions with Michelle and Philip were great!! They were very knowledgeable, and we really appreicated having their two dogs there for our little guy to practice distractions. They were also very sweet and "took the extra mile" with small touches like toys for the dogs, bought us a new harness to try, etc.  It's a very relaxed environment, and most importantly, was very fun for Higgins!  We would highly recommend".

Courtney F. - 05/05/2020

BUBBA

Dogo Argentino

"My husband and I worked with Philip and Michele Kaough on training our dog Bubba.  We love that they use positive reinforcement in their training techniques.  Our dog has come such a long way.  We introduced him to the gentle leader with the help of the Kaoughs.  It is no longer a frustrating struggle to take our very strong dog for a walk.  We have fun working on his obedience commands at home.  It takes a lot of practice and time commitment to reinforce the behaviors learned at his training session for the week.  If you stay on top of the homework provided by the Kaoughs, you and your dog will be a happer couple!".

K. MacDonald - 03/13/2020

NASH

Korean Jindo

"Philip and Michelle were incredible to  work with!  They did a really nice job with our dog, Nash, whom we rescued a few months before we started training with them.  Nash made incredible progress with his sit/stays and leash skills - they made awesome recommendations for the proper equipment as well.  I highly recommend them, you and your dog will gain more confidence together."

D. Stevens - 02/04/2020

SALLY

Pug/Beagle Mix

"Phillip and Michelle are true dog people!  They have such a nice way about them and that shows in how they go about training your dog.  It is a relaxed environment that includes two of their own dogs.  This is very important, at least to us, to have our dog socializing with other dogs as it is hard at a park to do this.  As for the training we did a 6 week class, once a week, that brought about a big change in our dog.  We had rescued her and although a good dog at heart it was not shining through.  That all changed about 3 sessions in as they taught us how to be with her and to recognize what she is thinking and why she was doing what she was doing.  6 sessions later we have the knowledge to correct the situations we are running into.  Don't get me wrong she is still a dog and you need to continue the training after the classes.  And that is what K.O. Dog Training left us with, the ability to read, understand and correct situations that come up.  And, if we can't figure it out they have an open door policy that I can call them for their help.  Great find!!  Highly Recommended!"

Chris E. - 02/01/2020

OTIS

Beagle/Shepherd Mix

"Philip and Loki were amazing.  He worked with myself and my puppy with an atypical schedule and was very flexible in making sure we made the most out of our training days.  Otis (the pup) and I both learned a lot and truly looked forward to our walks and lessons.  Couldn't recommend K.O. enough."

Thomas S. - 12/20/2019

PIPER

Border Collie

"We highly recommend K.O. Dog Training for their professionalism, expertise, and quality service.  Our young Border Collie, Piper, was in need of some basic obedience training, so we hired Philip for his 6-week private course.  Like a hypnotist, Philip demonstrated an instant command over our dog - teaching her to come, sit, down, and stay.  More importantly, he provided our family the necessary tools and techniques for achieving good behavior.  From quality treat suggestions and leash recommendations... to the importance of consistency and routine.  His knowledge of dog breeds and individual traits helped us understand WHY our dog behaves in certain ways and HOW to manage it.  He customized each session based on our specific needs and requests.  With each scenario (such as tormenting our cats, demand barking, or ignoring us while off leash)… he would provide a solution to try.  We truly appreciate Philip's help, dedication, and follow up.  Now it's our job to keep up the good work!"

Christian D. - 12/10/2019

Bones & Lucas

Great Dane/Doberman Mix & All-American

"Philip and Michelle from K.O. are great.  We have two adolescent dogs with impulse issues and they did a tremendous job understanding our unique needs and providing us with successful tools and techniques for changing and rewarding behavior.  I highly recommend their valuable services.  They clearly love dogs and what they do. "

John & Tammy D. - 11/20/2019

BLUE

Pembroke Welsh Corgi

"We have a one-year old Pembroke Welsh Corgi named Blue who we got as a pup.  Blue began his sessions with Philip and Michelle with essentially no training or discipline.  Literally ground zero.  We went right into training which is very interactive and definitely involved my wife and I.

Corgi's are very smart and strong-willed herding dogs and Blue is in the higher end of that spectrum.  Philip and Michelle led us to take charge right away using a variety of methods and techniques. Blue made very stead progress - not without setbacks due to his nature - but Michelle and Philip never wavered in their patience or ability to move to special methods we can use.  Their experience, professionalism, and patience are highest level.

The transformation of Blue and his progress is remarkable.  We are now complete with our sessions and we reinforce the lessons we learned every day.  Philip and Michelle also make themselves available for communication and advice between sessions.  It was a joy to work with them and we heartily recommend them!!"

Richard and Jane D. - 09/28/2019

COOPER

Labrador Mix

"We needed lots of help with our newly adopted shelter dog.  His aggressive demand barking was a terrible habit he picked up from his previous home where he had been mistreated and neglected.  Philip and Michelle were instrumental in teaching us how to help Cooper become a good citizen.  We could not have done it without their gentle and encouraging instruction.  We are so proud of Cooper and of ourselves!  Thank you K.O. Dog Training!!".

Karen W. - 08/23/2019

ginger

German Shepherd

"We enjoyed our training sessions and Ginger learned a lot from their guidance.   K.O. Training made the classes fun and entertaining with their own well trained dogs as examples of what can be achieved with consistency and respect!  We recommend them if you are looking for gentle, kind training for your dog!".

James P. - 07/05/2019

Ziggy

Yorkshire Terrier

"We highly recommend Philip and Michele.  Their integrity and respect for the dog and the customer is remarkable. Our 18 month old yorkie Ziggy, learned to listen to us and follow commands. They are remarkable and train with love and respect".

Molly H. - 06/06/2019

Calli

Mini American Eskimo

"Philip and Michelle are wonderful.  They are patient and helpful with both my puppy and me as we learn together.  I am so happy that I stumbled on their information".

Carol B. - 04/28/2019

Karma

Australian Kelpie

5 STARS - Basic Obedience

Jeff M. - 02/01/2019

Nani

Golden Retriever

5 STARS - Puppy Training

Linda H. - 01/28/2019

Turbo & Guinnes

Australian Shepherd & Australian Shepherd Mix

"Philip and Michelle gave us the tools we needed to train our dogs and help correct some problem behaviors.  You have to be willing to put in the work, but I feel confident that I can continue to use what I learned to keep improving behavior". 

Michelle M. - 12/06/2018

Buddy

Golden Retriever

"I highly recommend K.O. Dog Training.  A very good friend recommended them to me because Philip and Michelle trained their dog Dash and did an amazing job for them.  As soon as I got my golden retriever, Buddy I called Philip and started their six week private program.  Buddy has grown so much and knows all his commands and is a super polite and well behaved puppy now at six months old.  All thanks to the super talent of Philip and Michelle and their dogs Loki and Bailey.  We are now part of the K.O. family!". 

Karen F. - 09/06/2018  

Shelby

White Swiss Shepherd

"We recently completed training, successfully, with K.O. Dog Training for our 7 month old Shepherd and couldn't be more pleased!  Philip and his wife Michelle are an incredible team and are highly Experienced Professionals.  They are very patient and insightful and their training was absolutely spot on.  Our Vet of over 12 years had highly recommended them to us for our puppy (but I think for me as well... :) ...   We think they are great and our Shepherd absolutely loves them!"

Robin C. - 09/06/2018  

Pickles

Poodle

"Training provided us with extremely valuable lessons and skills.  We now feel much more comfortable going forward, and are empowered to continue working with our dog.  We highly recommend!"

Josh K. - 07/17/2018

Buddy

Mini-Pinscher & Chihuahua Mix

"I called Philip & Michelle in a bit of a panic.  Our puppy Buddy was terrified of his carrier for travel.  They came to our rescue!  They helped us with training & familiarization with a carrier.  It was such a better trip home and we couldn't have done it without their help".

Nikki W. - 06/03/2018

Lebron

Rottweiler

"We had a great session w/Philip and Michelle.  They worked out w/my busy schedule and make sure that my dog's behavior was fixed at the end of the session.  They are very passionate about their job, and they will not hesitate to answer all of your questions and concern.  I have learned alot from the training session.  Thank you :) ". 

Kelly N. - 05/20/2018

Baby

Chihuahua        

"I had the best experience working with the owners of K.O. Dog Training, Philip and Michelle.  They were prompt, courteous, caring and loving towards our dog, Baby, as well as my daughter and I, and helped us have a better relationship with our 'fur baby'.  They were very professional in their approach to our concerns and listened and responded appropriately.  We now have a more attentive dog and we are less fearful of him approaching a situation with aggressive behavior.  My daughter and I also have more confidence in handling him and his sometimes anxious behavior.  We strongly recommend K.O. Dog Training for your four legged best friends". 

Regina H. - 05/17/2018

Bruiser 

English Labrador Retriever        

"I would recommend K.O. Dog Training to anyone out there who is looking for a trainer that has patience, kindness, professionalism, and who truly cares about your and your pets success!". 

Nancy S. - 05/10/2018

Teddy

Mini GoldenDoodle

"I would highly recommend K.O. Dog Training.  The trainers, Philip and Michelle were great to work with.  They were prompt to each session and made themselves available in between in case I had questions or concerns.  They were very patient with me as a new puppy owner and great with my dog, Teddy.  Our sessions are over and they made it clear that they are an available resource to me for the life of my dog.  I am very pleased with the progress that Teddy (and I) have made". 

Rebecca P. - 05/09/2018

Emma

Dachsund

"Very impressed and grateful.  Kind, professional, not only taught my dog but myself as well.  Meagan and I so appreciate K.O. Dog Training".

Nancy B. - 05/06/2018

Shadow

Saluki Mix

"Our dog, Shadow, is a rescue with some stress and anxiety in social situations.  Philip and Michelle spent a lot of time working with us to build Shadow's confidence and understand what goes on in his head.  Thanks to K.O. Dog Training, Karen and I have grown as dog parents and the changes we've seen in Shadow are exceptional.  Thanks Philip and Michelle, you are amaziing."

Andy S. - 05/06/2018

Dash

English Golden Retriever

"I cannot recommend Philip and Michelle Kaough of K.O. Dog Training highly enough.  They have been with us since we brought our Golden Retriever puppy home, and have been invaluable in helping us to train him.  Phiilp and Michelle are extremely knowledgeable, easy to work with, and have helped us at every step of the way in training our puppy using positive reinforcement. 'Patient & Constructive' is one piece of training advice that Philip imparted to me as critical in training your dog.  Those words always ring true.  Philip and Michelle are patient and constructive with dogs and owners alike."

Glen O. - 05/01/2018

Sweetie

Yorkshire Terrier/Chihuahua Mix

"My husband and I inherited my mom's 5 y.o. Yorkie mix "Sweetie" after she passed away from breast cancer.  Although a sweet dog she had never been socialized with other dogs; she was nervous, barked on every walk, and had no formal obedience training.  Finding a trainer was paramount to our quality of life.  Both my husband and myself are very active/outdoor people and we wanted to be able to take our new pup with us.  K.O. Training assessed and created an individualized program for Sweetie (and us!), building her confidence without making her more nervous.  They taught us techniques to practice at home and with consistency she is now more confident.  She is able to eat with us at outdoor venues without the barking and nervousness.  Walking in highly populated areas is enjoyable.  She follows commands such as sit, lay down, and leave-it.  Being a new dog owner I found their training effective and kind.  They were able to teach a new dog owner & dog who had just lost their mom.  All done during a very stressful time in both our lives.  I can't thank them enough.  Our quality of life as new dog owners has improved tremendously.  I highly recommend K.O. Training."

Lisa M. - 03/12/2018

Bo

Bloodhound

"I have nothing but good to say about Philip and Michelle.  They worked with my bloodhound pup and broke all of his habits.  I highly recommend them.  They're great people and are great at what they do!".

Hannah W. - 02/05/2018

DUKE

Dachshund

"Great trainers.  Patient, professional and caring.  We saw noticeable improvement with our puppies behavior after just a few lessons with our 12-month old puppy".

Scott G. - 01/27/2018

CHARLIE

Great Dane

"Philip and Michelle are easy and patient to work with.  My 9 month old rescue needs some help becoming a good citizen and with their help, I'm confident he'll get there".

Ginny C. - 01/02/2018

OLIVER

White Labrador Retriever

"5 Stars for K.O. Dog Training".

Martha G - 10/12/2017

WOODY

Pembroke Welsh Corgi

"We are so thankful for Philip, Michelle and Loki!!!  They are amazing instructors; they have helped us get off to a great start with our corgi puppy, and we have all learned so much from them.  They are so knowledgeable, dedicated, available, patient, flexible, kind, fun, creative, clear, encouraging and effective.  I can't say enough good about them.  Their fees are very fair and their giving of their time is so generous.  The sessions we've spent with them have been so worthwhile!  We would surely not have made the progress we have, if it wasn't for them.  Years ago we did a group class with a previous puppy, but this is far far superior - to have a dedicated trainer working one on one with us and our dog in our specific situation is terrific!  They've helped us get off to a great start for a lifetime of emjoyment with our pup!  So thankful for them and would highly recommend them!!!".

Blair B. – 10/4/17

NICO

Mini Schnauzer

“K.O. Dog Training is excellent!  Philip and Michelle are knowledgeable, patient, consistent, and organized.  Nico is a Miniature Schnauzer.  They are extremely intelligent, willful, and stubborn.  They were bred to hunt vermin and alert to everything that moves or makes a noise.  Nico felt it was his duty/job to eradicate the threat/danger.  It was amazing to see how using the proper commands and voice we were able to calm and tain Nico.  Five star rating for K.O. Dog Training!!"

VeeCee C. – 08/29/2017

STANLEY

Goldendoodle

“I want to thank Philip and Michelle for teaching Stanley, our 15 month old goldendoodle, some manners & life lessons on how to be a "good boy"..... "Yesssss Stanley yesssss"!  Stanley and I still have work to do, but our foundation is strong.  I highly recommend them... They are awesome!  Oh, and, they are always available by phone if you have any questions during the training process and after.  How great is that!!!

Laura G.. – 07/26/2017

MALANI

Keeshond

“Philip and Michelle are the best!  Along with Loki, the real trainer, all 3 did a fantastic job with our Keeshond, Malani.  A very stubborn Kees, Malani is not an easy trainable dog as her social personality was she had never experienced any training or outside stimulus so everything was a new adventure, even airplanes and helicopters upset her.  Out training sessions went directly to allowing Malani to relax and take orders which she was not used to.  She now sits, comes, and is much more of a companion than ever before, just in 6 lessons!  I really appreciated the help they gave her and never once did the clock interfere with the lesson which is really a nice touch.  It was a pleasure to work with such dedicated people.  Thanks again!”

Don K. – 06/10/2017

SHELBY 

Jack Russell Terrier

“We are halfway through our six week training program and our dog is thriving in her commands being learned.  They make it fun for both me and my puppy!”

Daniel V. – 05/23/2017

 

PIP-BOY

Blue Heeler

“Thanks for helping us get our crazy dog under control!  Philip and Michelle were great with our dog Pip-boy. When we contacted them Pip was aggressive and nervous, with little confidence.  He had attacked our smaller dog a few times and was an all-around bully to her.  He also had a very difficult time being left alone.  Philip and Michelle helped to build up his confidence and in turn helped to lessen his aggressive and nervous behaviors.  Their dog Loki also helped to lessen his aggressive and nervous behaviors.  Their dog Loki also helped socialize Pip and was impressively well trained.  Pip now gets along with our smaller dog, Tootsie, and is more at ease when we leave him alone.  In the six weeks that we’ve worked with them I can see that our Pip is a different dog.  He’s happier, more relaxed, and more at ease.  Philip and Michelle were always accommodating and welcomed any and all questions we had through the training process.  We would highly recommend K.O. Dog Training!”

Cynthia S.  – 05/02/2017

TWILA 

Yellow Labrador Mix

“Very good service tailored to my dog’s needs.  Highly recommend!  Excellent.”

 Kent D. – 04/21/2017

DALLAS

Pit/Chow/Boxer Mix

“Thank you K.O.!  K.O. Dog Training has provided my wife and me with the ability to walk our dog in a controlled and predictable manner.  Since our dog is an American Pit Bull Terrier, she is (was) prone to pull on the leash with immense force (like a team of horses), which on some occasions had caused my wife to fall and sustain injury.  Moreover, our dog now responds to commands (as training is still in the initial phase) like “come”, “sit”, “focus”, “stop” and “down” (as in lay down).  The rate at which our dog is learning, she should be able to do our income taxes before April 15.” 

 Bill R. – 03/17/2017

BARLEY

Siberian Husky

“Highly Recommended!!!   Great trainers for our puppy, although our dog is obviously smarter than us and Michelle and Philip seem to be training us more than our dog!”

Kelly S. – 02/24/2017

GABRIEL

 Doberman Pinscher

“Philip is an excellent trainer.  We acquired a young, energetic, fun loving Doberman, Gabriel, who was beyond our ability to train.  After trying another person w/o success we heard about Philip.  He came to our house for about an hour and evaluated both us and our energetic puppy.  Gabriel immediately responded to him and thrived under his tutelage.  Philip worked diligently with the help of his wife Michelle to hone in on Gabe’s response style and consequently taught my husband and I how to encourage Gabriel to obey.  With his training we have a much more obedient pet which makes for a much more pleasant household!  We highly recommend K.O. Dog Training.” 

Karen G. – 01/16/2017

BO

Boston Terrier/French Bulldog Mix

“Awesome Trainers!  Basic Obedience training, and training my dog not to pull on the leash.  Philip and Michelle Kaough were awesome with my dog.  I would highly recommend Philip and Michelle to people with new puppies.  They have a true understanding of dogs and their underlying motivators.  They helped my husband and I see how vital structure and consistency is for Bo’s happiness and well-being.  I really hope in the future that we get to continue to the next level of training class with them.” 

 Wanda H. – 01/04/2017

SCARLETT & PENNY

Dachshund & Terrier/Chihuahua Mix

“I enrolled my two dogs in a 6 week class for basic commands.  I quickly realized that I was the one that really required the training.  I am pleased with the results of our training and now with continued repetition, I will have the well behaved dogs I hoped for.  Philip is an excellent, knowledgeable trainer that I would highly recommend.”

 Vicki H. – 12/28/2016

HOWIE

Samoyed

“Mr. Kaough is one of a kind.  Always encouraging to me and Howie even when I might get frustrated.  Very flexible with my crazy work schedule.  And always made himself available for questions or advice outside of training sessions.” 

 Marissa K. – 10/09/2016

ROCKY

German Shepherd

“Very good dog trainer.  Have been working with him for about 6 months now.  We are training my 2 year old Shepherd for my service dog for PTSD.  I can now leave Rocky my dogs site for 5 minutes where he can’t see me and he stays.  What impressed me is Philip has a service dog for PTSD he trained himself.  I have recommended him to several people and they all say the same thing, he is a great trainer and he knows what he is doing.  I highly recommend him.” 

 Joanne P. – 08/18/2016

SIRI 

West Highland White Terrier

“Philip came to my house to evaluate my dog.  We had training sessions in a fenced area where we taught her basic commands and walking on a leash.  He and his wife/co-trainer helped us to get Siri through basic training and walking on roads and sidewalks.  He is excellent in communicating how to effectively get your dog to listen and obey commands.  I have enjoyed our training sessions and recommend anyone who wants one on one training to go to Philip.” 

 Katherine F. – 08/11/2016

BISCUIT

Labrador Retriver

“Excellent trainers with a real love for dogs.  My black lab is responding well to his gentle but firm instruction.  I am well pleased!”

Jill C. – 03/31/2016

GINGER

Chihuahua/Pekingese Mix

“We had basic puppy training with commands and were very satisfied with the outcome.  The trainer was very professional and knowledgeable and had excellent rapport with our dog and us.  We would highly recommend him.” 

Alan & Barbara A. – 03/06/2016

KARTER

Lab/Pit Mix

“Mr. Philip connected with Karter, my dog, and did all he could to determine what would and wouldn’t work for him as far as training.  Karter would have his days when he didn’t want to work but he never gave up on him and to this day Karter listens a lot better.  They make sure to show you exactly what you need to do when you are practicing at home and you can just sense his love for dogs at every session.  I would definitely recommend K.O. Dog Training to anyone looking for help with their dog(s).” 

LaKeysha G. – 02/19/2016

SCOUT 

Hound Mix

“We did the 8 week basic obedience.  Before we started to train our 9 month old puppy pulled and bit at the leash, would not come when called, and jumped on kids!  Now he comes, sits, stays, our 5 year old walks him on the leash, and he stays!” 

Jamie M. – 01/31/2016

MISTER 

Terrier Mix

“My dog ‘Mister’ had lost control on a leash because his mistress wasn’t using the proper commands required for a good walk.  K.O. Training changed all that, and now our walks are most pleasant.”

Lynn L. – 10/30/2015

BENTLEY 

Pit/Lab Mix

“Great people and so glad I went to him with my dog.  1000 times better behaved now than before.”

Jacob B. – 10/26/2015

LOU 

English Bull Terrier

“Trainer is very patient and kind.  He really knows about dogs and how they should be trained.  I would certainly recommend him to anyone with a problem dog or a new puppy.” 

Jesse E. – 09/30/2015